Site icon YatrikaOne

Borobudur: A Dhyani Buddha statue with the Dhyana Mudra gesture


A Dhyani Buddha statue with the Dhyana Mudra gesture
The image shows a statue of Dhyani Buddha (Meditating Buddha) with the Dhyana Mudra gesture. In Sanskrit, dhyana means meditation and mudra literally means seal but refers to the hand gesture.

In this gesture, both the palms face upwards with the right palm above the left. This gesture represents meditation, and the Buddha with this gesture is known as Amitabha. In Borobudur, all the Buddha statues facing west have this mudra.

There are 432 Dhyani Buddha statues on the Rūpadhātu layer of the Borobudur. Although these statues look alike, they have different mudras. In Buddhism, there are five different mudras, which are: Bhumisparsha Mudra, Dhyana Mudra, Abhaya Mudra, Vara Mudra, and Vitāraka Mudra. The Buddha statues facing a particular cardinal direction have the same mudras.

Here are the statues with the other type of mudras:

Related Pages
Borobudur, Prambanan, Prambanan Bas-Reliefs, Bali, Indonesia
Angkor Wat, Angkor Wat Bas-Reliefs, Banteay Srei, Cambodia

Copyright © 2020 – 2021 by YatrikaOne. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version