Site icon YatrikaOne

Meteora: Monastery of Aghia Triada (Holy Trinity)


Monastery of Aghia Triada
The towering rocks of Meteora are home to several Greek Orthodox monasteries. Because of serenity and isolation, monks started building monasteries on top of rocks in the 14th century. Back in the 16th century, there were 24 monasteries. Now they have dwindled to six active monasteries, and all of them are open to the public. Of the six, two of them are nunneries.

The images shows the Monastery of Aghia Triada, which is one of the six active monasteries. Aghia Triada in Greek means Holy Trinity. Founded by monk Dometius, this monsatery was built in 1475 and is a male monks only monastery.

The other five monasteries are:

  1. Monastery of Russano – Nunnery
  2. Monastery of Varlaana
  3. Monastery of Saint Stephen – Nunnery
  4. Monastery of Great Meteoron – Male monks only. Also known as Holy Monastery of Transfiguration and Monastery of Metamorfossis
  5. Monastery of Saint Nicholos Anapafsas

Related Pages
Athens, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora, Greek Islands, Greece
Minoan Civilization, Mycenaean Civilization

Copyright © 2017 – 2019 by Lawrence Rodrigues. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version