Meteora: Monastery of St. Stephen

Monastery of St.Stephen in Meteora, Greece

Monastery of St. Stephen in Meteora

Monastery of St. Stephen
The towering rocks of Meteora are home to several Greek Orthodox monasteries. Because of serenity and isolation, monks started building monasteries on top of rocks in the 14th century. Back in the 16th century, there were 24 monasteries. Now they have dwindled to six active monasteries, and all of them are open to the public. Of the six, two of them are nunneries.

The images shows the Monastery of St.Stephen, which is one of the six active monasteries. This monastery was bombed during World War II by the Nazis and was almost destroyed. It was rebuilt and made into a nunnery. The other five monasteries are:

  1. Monastery of Russano – Nunnery
  2. Monastery of Varlaana
  3. Monastery of Great Meteoron – Male monks only. Also know as Holy Monastery of Transfiguration and Monastery of Metamorfossis
  4. Monastery of Saint Nicholos Anapafsas
  5. Monastery of Aghia Triada (Holy Trinity) – Male monks only

Related Pages
Athens, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora, Greek Islands, Greece
Minoan Civilization, Mycenaean Civilization

Copyright © 2017 – 2019 by Lawrence Rodrigues. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »

You cannot copy content of this page

%d bloggers like this: